Garlic & Other Bulbs


This past weekend was very nice and warm for the month of November. I planted a little bit of garlic. Also sunk in some daffs and tulips around the front of the house. When planting garlic, it’s better to buy from a seed catalog or grower then to mess around with store bought garlic. The results from grocery store cloves will be measly at best because they weren’t meant for planting. The photo above might be confusing, you don’t plant the entire bulb, you separate out the cloves individually while being careful to leave the skin intact. I took a workshop in garlic growing a while back, and it’s a good idea to cover the planted area with hay. Since I didn’t have any hay off hand I used some crusty hosta remnants. Anything to insulate a bit helps, you could even use dry leaves.
And make sure you mark them well so you don’t forget they are there in the spring!

One Response to “Garlic & Other Bulbs”

  1. Jocelyn Krodman Says:

    I sure wish I would have read this before I planted my garlic! I miss you, so I am reading your blog. True story.

Leave a Reply

