Cheese Please

HUMBOLDT STREET, Brooklyn: Before I packed up my kitchen supplies I made a valiant effort at making cheese. It’s something I have been meaning to experiment with for a long time, and it seemed like the perfect thing to do considering the abundance of tomatoes from the garden this year.

Mozzarella is probably the simplest to start with from what I’ve read about it. I got all my info from “the cheese lady” at www.cheesemaking.com – seemingly the primary source for supplies and info in the cheese making world. The intro to soft cheese is seriously everything one needs to get started, besides the milk and a pot to cook it in. It was fun, and really did only take 40 minutes or so from start to finish. I did a third of the recipe provided in my intro kit just because it was my first time and I didn’t want to waste materials. I was surprised how much milk it takes to make so little cheese, but it was the perfect amount just for me and I feel confident next time to take on a full batch to have enough to share with others. I definitely see the art behind temperature control and handling. My little ball was pretty hard, but still delish, and I have a better idea on what needs to happen to make it perfect.

3 Responses to “Cheese Please”

  1. Marie Says:

    Now that I’ve just found your blog, you’re leaving! I look forward to tales from Idaho…Happy trails.

  2. jessica Says:

    mmmmm cheese! my favorite. im impressed you made your own. if i knew how i would probably eat even more cheese then i already do and i dont know if that is good or bad.

  3. Winter’s Cheese « I GREW THIS Says:

    […] have yet to graduate beyond mozzarella, but I have been wondering since I started what the heck to do with all the “waste […]

Leave a Reply

