Pushing Through

HUMBOLDT ST., Brooklyn: To cope with one of the hardest times of year I caved and bought an orchid. I needed the consistent beauty of the blooms to help me keep on the bright side when the winter has worn me out and the occasional sunny days only leave me more bitter the next day when it’s cold and gray again.
The pink is cheerful and reminds me spring is right around the corner, and outdoor planting can begin as early as next week! In Brooklyn, beets, broccoli, peas, spinach and onion sets can all be planted outdoors. If you have the set up for it, begin indoor seeds of pretty much everything else right now! If only the cold frame hadn’t blown away…

Leave a Reply

