Over the River and Through the Woods

MUSIC MOUNTAIN ROAD, Falls Village: Home for the holidays raiding my dad’s archives of Mother Earth News. Get ready for some major linkage updates, like this one: www.motherearthnews.com! Getting stoked on growing onions and garlic and crunching around in the snowy woods with my dog. Day dreaming about the country life, as always. Only now I’m up here breathing the fresh air, so it’s all a little more real.

Everyone deserves a little country time.

There are still giant vegetables of the squash variety adorning random outdoor corners of the homestead, and surprising me. I love the things that are still green through the snow even though the season is over around these parts.

The mentality is different here from a city garden. Things are left standing to be blanketed by snow as supposed to desperately scrambling to harvest every last leaf before the first flake falls, like I tried really hard to do this year in Brooklyn.

Lastly, even though unrelated to gardening, I wanted to give my mom huge props for totally out doing it this year on her annual “gingerbread” house. She has long evolved away from the use of actually gingerbread for more creative edible mediums, but this is really something!

Photo courtesy of Gail Allyn: a reproduction of a traditional Thai home, created with the help of the exchange student from Thailand who is staying with my parents this school year. Holy moly, way to go mom. I am very impressed.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

