i love pie

HUMBOLDT ST, Brooklyn: What better thing to do on a cold rainy Sunday in December but bake? As promised, how to make a vegan apple pie:

Pre heat oven to 425. Open a Woodchuck Cider, it will help you relax and enjoy yourself.

THE DOUGH:

1-1/4 cups all purpose flour

3 tablespoons COLD dairy free buttery spread (Earth Balance or equivalent)

1/4 cup vegetable shortening

3+ teaspoons very cold water

(Times these quantities by two for a 9″ pie with top.)

Sometimes I think my “how tos” on here must be very unhelpful because I tend to explain just about everything as intuitive. This recipe is no exception. Pie crust is a very intuitive thing. So, when you find yourself up to your elbows in flour wondering what the heck to do next, don’t hesitate to call me for guidance and I will do my best to steer you right.

With that said, get ready to get your hands dirty…er… floury? In a big bowl cut the “butter” and shortening into the flour. This means about teaspoon sized chunks. Handling time  is key, in my opinion, the best most flakey crust is achieved by minimal touch time. Roll up your sleeves and start pinching all the buttery stuff in with the flour until you have no more chunks to pinch and the consistency is even. It should still be pretty floury with tiny pea sized dough balls.

This is where intuition kicks in, adding the super cold water a little at a time. I usually make a cup of water with a couple ice cubes in it for easy access.  Dribble the water slowly while turning the mixture with a fork. Use your best judgement to determine if you need to add a little more or a little less. The dough should be evenly moist and sticking loosely in a rough mass.

Throw a splash of flour down on your work surface to lay the dough ball out. I never refrigerate mine because I feel like it makes the crust tougher, but maybe I just making things harder on myself. Roll it out using flour on the pin so it doesn’t stick. I don’t have a rolling pin, so I use a giant wine bottle! If it is not rolling out right the first time you have about one more chance to roll out this batch of dough. After that it will become super dense and lead to a hard crust. I mean, it would be ok if it was your first time trying, but I am crazy about getting the flakiest crust possible. Google “Pie 101” for more detail on transferring the dough and fitting to the pan.

THE FILLING:

Apples, lots of them. Actually just 5 big ones.

1/2 cup apples sauce

1/4 brown sugar

3 table spoons flour

1 teaspoon cinamon

1 shake nutmeg

Optional if you have it around to be extra delish: 1 teaspoon vanilla and/or 1 teaspoon orange zest

Man, my dog is cute. Here are some apples we got from the farmers market. Here is a close up picture, in case you need reminding what an apple is:

The rest is simple, the dough is the hard part. PEEL APPLES. cut into mouth friendly sized pieces. I like mine pretty chunky, but you can also go tiny or do thin slices. Mix everything together!!

Put it all (including juices) on top of the dough you just rolled into the pie plate! Make it heaping!

Cover as desired. I always do a lattice pattern…

Bake for 15 minutes at 425, then reduce heat to 350 and bake another 50 or so minutes.

(i know I already posted this pic in the thanksgiving post, but it is such a good closer.)

yum.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

