The Second Born Sun(flower)

IMG_0749Don’t worry, this blog will not turn into a documentation of each individual sunflower bloom in my “yarde.” I was excited to find the second flower of this season when I got back from vacation the beginning of this week.

IMG_0745 As I mentioned in my last post, the sunflowers are somewhat of experiment for me this year since I harvested the seeds from last years crop. It’s worth noting they are certainly smaller, measuring approx 3 feet in height with the center of the flower at approx. 3″ diameter. Currently they are about 1/3 of the size compared to last years dimensions of approx. 7′ tall with 9″ – 12″ diameters of seed. And yes, that is a bee in the middle who made camp there for a couple days:

IMG_0747 I think that is pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

