HYDRA, YO

first bloom 1

HOME, Brooklyn, NY: My hydrangea is blooming. It was a gift from my Aunt in 2006, one of those small plastic container plants you can buy in the grocery store when the season is right. They are usually bloomed out to the max,  so super hyped on miracle grow the roots are practically bursting their bucket. Mostly, I think, people buy these and throw them away when they are done flowering. As soon as this gal was done with her pretty business that first year I transplanted her into a bigger pot. I did not have any outdoor space at this point and she slowly lost every leaf looking like a skeleton of sticks, but i held on to my hopes!

The next year I moved into a place with a bit of exterior square footage. Hydra had some how managed to sprout a single pathetic leaf, off a new sprout growing from the middle of what used to be her lushness. I sympathized how confusing it must be for a seasonal plant to have to be exclusively indoors for a year and a half. I wasn’t surprised that she wasn’t looking that great. I was surprised she was still alive. When spring rolled around I was wondering if the outdoors would be too overwhelming. I took it easy on her at first, outside just in the shade for a couple hours, until we had worked her up to full time. And she was happy, new leaves were appearing and then she was back, bigger than when I first got her. But no flowers. She was just a leafy bush that summer, not even an attempt to flower. I had been curious what color they would be, since I read about how the acidity of the soil is what determines the shade of the bloom (more alkaline will render pink, while a lower pH will render blue – however white supposedly is always white.) Well, I am not that in tune with chemistry of my soil, maybe someday when I am old and turn into some kind of crazy extreme gardener, I will give a shit. For now it seemed more exciting to leave it up to chance. She was blue when we first met and, to cut to the chase, after two years of only leaves, I am delighted to showcase her first gorgeous lavender pouf. Purple is so in right now.

first bloom 2 Also happy to report there are many more in the making, as you can see! The romantic in me thinks this view looks like a big giant heart. This is going to be a good year.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “HYDRA, YO”

  1. Late Bloomers « I GREW THIS Says:

    […] will dry out and keep for winter arrangements, depending on water conditions. Remember Hydra?? (my first post ever.) Well, she is doing grand with a crazy mix of pinks and blues, as you can see. These […]

Leave a Reply

